Close Search

The 1590 Trust

The 1590 Trust is a multi-academy trust of six schools, serving the Stockton on Tees area. There are strong links between all six schools and a shared set of values and ethos. Together we feel we can do more for our local communities, students, pupils, parents and staff.

The history of the Trust

Conyers School was first founded in 1590 to serve the community of Yarm and surrounding areas. It has a long and rich tradition of providing a first class education and playing a full role in the wider life of the town.

Conyers Trust was created on 1st November 2016, changing from an Academy Trust founded in 2013 to a Multi Academy Trust (MAT). Multi-academy trusts have different governance arrangements because they are established to oversee and manage more than one academy.

The Trust expanded during 2018 with local primary schools Kirklevington and Layfield joining with Conyers School and Bader Primary school. Levendale Primary joined the Trust from April 2019 and Bewley Primary School came on board in September 2019.

With the expansion of the Trust, the Trustees felt it was appropriate to have a new name to reflect the changes. Inspired by the first school in Stockton, the Trust changed its name to The 1590 Trust in September 2018.